Bidvest Wits are 2016/17 Absa Premiership Champions

Bidvest Wits have successfully unseated Mamelodi Sundowns to win the 2016/17 Absa Premiership championship. Mamelodi Sundowns struggled against Maritzburg United trailing 2-0 for most of the match before coming back to secure a 2-2 draw in the dying minutes.

Bidvest Wits stormed to their maiden Absa Premiership title with a 2-0 victory over Polokwane City 2-0 at Bidvest Stadium. The Johannesburg based side secured their second title of the season and a maiden double.

The Bidvest Wits Absa Premiership championship victory marks the fourth championship collaboration between head coach Gavin Hunt and winger Daine Klate. Hunt led SuperSport United to three consecutive championships in seasons gone-by before falling on hard times and later leaving that club.

Daine Klate left SuperSport United at the height of their success to join the glamorous Soweto side, Orlando Pirates. There he experience the greatest success of his career, the one he is likely never to match.

While at Orlando Pirates Daine Klate was part of the squad that won two consecutive trebles and later appeared in the CAF Champions League final. Today’s championship also sees Daine Klate winning his sixth Absa Premiership medal in his career, a feat unmatched by any player in South Africa.

Incidentally his beloved Orlando Pirates set the record of their own tonight as they failed to beat Ajax Cape Town which means to all likelihood, for the first time since the founding of the PSL, they will finish out of the top 8. They were the only team to have never finished out of the top 8 until this season.


Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *