Bongmusa Mthembu won 92nd Comrades Marathon

Bongmusa Mthembu won 92nd edition of the Comrades Marathon in a time of 5 hours, 35-minutes and 31 seconds. He finished for the second time having previously won the 89th edition of the same marathon in 2014. Bongmusa Mthembu became a complete winner of the Comrades Marathon when he won the up run having previously won the down run.

At one point during the race  Bongmusa Mthembu was neck and neck with Zimbabwean runner  Hatiwande Nyamande but began to steadily pull away eventually opening a 5 minutes gap which proved decisive for the KwaZulu-Natal native.

Hatiwande Nyamande eventually finished second with a time of 5:38.48 and the winner of the 2015 up run, Gift Kelehe, came in third with a time of 5:41.48. Bongmusa Mthembu is the second South African to win the race twice since the legendary Bruce Fordyce in 1990, who claimed a record nine Comrades Marathon wins in an illustrious career.

American runner Camille Herron won the Women’s Comrades Marathon with a time of 6:27.35. Alexandra Morozova (6:31.45) from Russia finished in second, with last year’s champion, South African Charne Bosman (6:39.51), in third


Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *